YanMate

What does an AI companion app actually cost?

It depends mostly on how long you keep it, which is the part most price lists leave out. Most of the popular companion apps sell their main monthly plan for between about ten and sixteen dollars, with cut-down plans below that and bigger tiers above. Annual plans look cheaper per month, but you pay the whole year up front, so if you leave after three months an annual plan is the most expensive way to have used the app. Set how long you expect to stay and which apps you are weighing, and the table below works out what each plan would cost over exactly that stretch, cheapest first. Every price was read on the company's own site or official app-store listing, with the source linked; where none of those pages names a price, the table says so instead of guessing.

Work it out

US prices, checked 24 Sep 2026. YanMate's row is read live from our billing system.

How long will you keep it?
Which apps?
  • Character.AIc.ai lite

    $4.99/mo—

    Cost for 12 months: $59.88Paying monthly

    Also sold weekly at $2.49.

  • YanMate (us)Plus

    $9.99/mo$89/yr

    Cost for 12 months: $89Prepaid for a year

  • Character.AIc.ai+

    $9.99/mo$94.99/yr

    Cost for 12 months: $94.99Prepaid for a year

    Same price on iOS, Android and web, per Character.AI. Introductory offers lower the first term.

  • NomiStandard Plan

    —$99.99/yr

    Cost for 12 months: $99.99Prepaid for a year

    App Store only. It also lists a “Standard Plan” at $15.99 with no billing period stated, a quarterly plan at $39.99, and an unexplained “Launch Plan” at $9.99 monthly or $59.99 yearly.

  • PolyBuzzPoly Standard

    $9.90/mo—

    Cost for 12 months: $118.80Paying monthly

    Also sold weekly at $4.99. polybuzz.ai sells yearly plans too, but its prices vary by location, so they are not quoted here.

  • ChaiPremium

    $13.99/mo$134.99/yr

    Cost for 12 months: $134.99Prepaid for a year

    App Store prices. A separate web product sells a different plan.

  • KindroidSubscription, bought on the web

    $13.99/mo$139.99/yr

    Cost for 12 months: $139.99Prepaid for a year

    Ultra (+$24.99/mo) and MAX (+$59.99/mo) are add-ons on top.

  • Janitor AIjanitor+

    $12.99/mo—

    Cost for 12 months: $155.88Paying monthly

    Or keep the free tier and pay the model provider you connect instead.

  • KindroidSubscription, bought in the app

    $15.99/mo$159.99/yr

    Cost for 12 months: $159.99Prepaid for a year

    Ultra (+$28.99/mo) and MAX (+$68.99/mo) are add-ons on top.

  • YanMate (us)Deep

    $19.99/mo$179/yr

    Cost for 12 months: $179Prepaid for a year

  • PolyBuzzPoly Premium

    $19.90/mo—

    Cost for 12 months: $238.80Paying monthly

  • TalkieTalkie+ Pro, in the Talkie Lab app

    $24.99/mo—

    Cost for 12 months: $299.88Paying monthly

    Talkie left Apple's US App Store in December 2024. Its maker's separate Talkie Lab app sells “1 Month Talkie+ Pro” at $24.99, and also lists unnamed “1 Month” ($9.99) and “1 Year” ($49.99) items.

  • PolyBuzzPoly Ultimate

    $29.90/mo—

    Cost for 12 months: $358.80Paying monthly

  • ChaiUltra

    $29.99/mo—

    Cost for 12 months: $359.88Paying monthly

    Also sold weekly at $19.99.

  • ReplikaPro and Ultra

    ——

    Cost for 12 months: Sold in-app; the store items do not name their plan

    The App Store lists items from $7.99 to $14.99 monthly and $49.99 to $69.99 yearly, without saying which plan each one is.

How to read the table

Cost for the months you chose is the lower of two numbers: keeping the monthly plan for that long, or prepaying whole years of the annual plan. For a short stretch that is nearly always monthly. Where an app publishes both prices, the table also says from which month the annual plan pays for itself: if you are confident you will still be using it by then, prepaying is worth it.

Prices are in US dollars and exclude tax. App stores set their own price for each country, and several of these apps charge less on the web than in the app, because no store takes a cut of a web payment. Use the table to compare apps with each other, then confirm the price in your own store before you pay.

What the table cannot tell you is which plan you need. Most of these apps do not publish their limits in a way that could be turned into a number — how many messages or minutes of voice a plan buys — so the free-tier lines below are in plain words, taken from each company's own description.

What each free tier includes

YanMate
Free for good with a free account, no card: 50 messages a day and 30 credits a month for voice, calls and pictures. On the free tier: about 10 minutes of spoken replies or 5 minutes of live calls a month.
YanMate pricing page (read live from billing)
Character.AI
Unlimited messages on the basic chat styles, with ads, a 15-pin memory limit and a slow mode. Character voice and calls are described as free for all users, on a help-centre page dated 2024.
c.ai+ prices, Character.AI help centre (checked 24 Sep 2026) · About c.ai lite, and the free tier (checked 24 Sep 2026) · Character Calls and Voice FAQ (checked 24 Sep 2026)
Replika
Chatting is free for good, per Replika's help centre. Voice calls and voice messages are paid features.
Replika help centre: prices are shown in-app (checked 24 Sep 2026) · Replika help centre: is Replika free? (checked 24 Sep 2026) · Replika on the US App Store (checked 24 Sep 2026)
Nomi
Free accounts include daily messages and images; no card needed. Voice calls are part of the paid subscription.
Nomi on the US App Store (checked 24 Sep 2026) · Nomi: what free accounts include (checked 24 Sep 2026) · Nomi wiki: how voice works (checked 24 Sep 2026)
Kindroid
Unlimited messages on the smaller Lite model, two Kindroids and limited selfies; a three-day premium trial needs a card. Free accounts get about five minutes of audio in total, lifetime; subscribers get a monthly audio allowance.
Kindroid subscriptions, web and app prices (checked 24 Sep 2026) · Kindroid on the US App Store (checked 24 Sep 2026)
PolyBuzz
Free, unlimited text chat with ads; the paid plans remove them. Character voice is limited on the free tier; members get unlimited voice listening.
PolyBuzz on the US App Store (checked 24 Sep 2026) · PolyBuzz membership and FAQ (checked 24 Sep 2026)
Chai
Free to download and use; the free tier's limits are not published. Characters have voices, but whether voice is free or paid is not stated.
Chai on the US App Store (checked 24 Sep 2026)
Janitor AI
Unlimited chats with the standard models and a context window of about 9,000 tokens. Not mentioned on the janitor+ page or the subscription FAQ.
janitor+ on Janitor AI (checked 24 Sep 2026) · Janitor on the US App Store (checked 24 Sep 2026)
Talkie
A free tier with ads; its limits are not published. Not stated on any Talkie page we could read.
Talkie Lab on the US App Store (checked 24 Sep 2026) · Talkie terms: Talkie+ is billed monthly (checked 24 Sep 2026) · Talkie on Google Play (checked 24 Sep 2026)

Where the numbers come from

A price appears here only if we read it on the company's own website or on its official App Store or Google Play listing. Blogs, review sites and roundups do not count, even when they agree with each other. When no qualifying page names a price, the row says it is not published and links to where we looked.

We make one of the apps in this table, so read it with that in mind. Our row is the one that cannot drift, because it is read live from our billing system rather than typed in; every other row carries the date it was checked, and the page is built to fail our own checks after four months without a fresh read. For the rest of what separates these apps — accounts, memory, voice and where they are the wrong choice — see the Character.AI alternatives comparison and the Replika alternatives comparison. What YanMate itself includes at each price is on the pricing page.

Questions

Is an annual plan cheaper than paying monthly?
Only if you keep it. An annual plan is paid up front, so leaving in the third month still costs the whole year. Set the months to how long you honestly expect to stay: the table then shows whichever way of paying is cheaper for that stretch, and, where both prices are published, the month from which the annual plan pays for itself.
Why do some apps show no price?
Because we could not read one on a page the company publishes. Several companion apps sell their plans only inside the app, where the price depends on your store and country. Rather than copy a number from a blog, the table says the price is not published and links to where we looked.
Are these prices the same in my country?
Probably not. The prices here are US dollars, read from US pages. App stores set local prices for each country and often add tax, and some apps charge less on the web than in the app because no store takes a cut there. Treat the table as a way to compare apps with each other, then check the price in your own store before you pay.
How current are these prices?
Every price was read on the date shown above the table, from the page linked beside it. The page is built to go stale on a schedule: after four months without a fresh check, it fails our own build until someone reads every page again. If you spot a price that has changed, the source link is the quickest way to confirm it.
Why is YanMate's price not typed in like the others?
Because we can read it directly. YanMate's row comes live from the same billing catalogue our pricing page uses, so it can never show a price we have stopped charging. We make YanMate, so weigh our row accordingly — but it is the one row on this page that cannot be out of date.

Other free tools

An AI character on YanMate.